Will Today Be The Day?

PA4MMJ_Logo

Will today be the day that my life changes forever?  We usually don’t get that kind of head’s up.  The big life-changing stuff is often a surprise.  Boom.  You’re in the ER.  Your life has been altered forever by your diagnosis of Intractable Epilepsy.  That’s how it happened to me.  Today, I am holding my breath that my long, dark, night of my soul is almost over.  I have been promised that today is, finally, FINALLY, the day.

The Pennsylvania House of Representatives is poised to pass medical marijuana!  My group of advocates are gathering in the Capitol for the hopeful celebration.  I will celebrate alone, in my home.  I would have gone if I could drive, but my disease stole that away from me.  I have only the Sunshine Law, LIVE TV feed, and all my friends on the inside Tweeting in real time.

We have been promised so many times.  This time the final vote is so close we can taste is.  It tastes like a pot brownie, which was not stripped from the bill by my nemesis: Representative Matt Baker.  I have written about this man before: https://ktslagle.wordpress.com/2015/05/21/representative-baker-is-a-big-fat-faker/

The Head of the Health Committee is the darling of Big Pharma.  He has been stringently opposed to compassion for YEARS.  The Senate passed Senate Bill 3 almost a  year ago.  A similar bill passed a year  before that.  He and The Speaker of the House let that one die.

Mr. Baker introduced amendment after amendment trying to strip this bill.  He spoke again and again about the evils of “so-called marijuana.”  (His words!)  He lied over and over.  He claimed that more ER visits were due to marijuana than heroin.  Are you fucking kidding me?  In the middle of this heroin EPIDEMIC which is killing people everyday, he claims that marijuana is worse.  Ask anyone who works in the ER, more people come in for aspirin overdoses!  Marijuana has not killed anybody.

Later in the night, after more of his rambling diatribe, he said he opposed the bill because it taxes medical marijuana.  He said, “How can we tax the medicine for sick people?”  So it IS medicine then is it?  Mr. Baker’s campaign funds come from pharmaceutical companies.  There are opposed to anything that might get people off of any drug.  Something that grows for free is terrifying to these people.  Matt Baker is willing to fight for their right to medicate you as they see fit.

He claimed that a building collapsed in Philly and the one person died was “diagnosed with marijuana.”  I’m pretty sure the marijuana didn’t cause the building to fall over, which is what KILLED him.  Not pot.  Baker was just hoping to confuse someone over to his side.

Medical marijuana has strong support in the House for months now.  Our Governor promises to sign it as soon as he gets it.  I believe him.  I don’t believe the House.

We have been lied to so many times.  I was promised that the House would vote by this time LAST YEAR.  I am excited and ready for disappointment.

But what if??  I will watch LIVE.  And I will cry either way.

Deep breath.  Hold it…

I just want to have less seizures.  I hate waking up on the bathroom floor.

Leave a comment

Filed under News

Comments are closed.