The Pennsylvania Senate is Just a Tease

imagine

I may have been one of the first people to hear the news.  I checked the web to confirm.  Nobody had yet written about it. But since the news was posted by the sponsoring Pennsylvania State Senator, I’ll take his word on it.  It was a very recent post on his official FB account.

The Pennsylvania Senate Appropriations Committee sent SB 1182 to the floor for a vote.  The Raymond Shafer Bill for Compassionate Use of Cannabis is going to the PA Senate. Supposedly,  the PA Senate will vote on it today.  I won’t hold my breath.  (Cough, cough.)

I was told the bill was going to pass the Senate by the end of the LAST session of General Assembly.  That was back in June.  But Hope springs eternal…  I have nothing to lose but Hope…  Eventually, we will be the last in the nation and we will have to submit.  The green tide has turned.  How long will it take is the only question. Today would be a good day to start.

The General Assembly is only working until the first week of October, so everyone can go and get re-elected.  It’s now or never.  Vote now or nothing will happen until next year, after the new General Assembly is sworn in.  I’m sure many people are stalling until after the elections.  They don’t want to make the wrong decision so close to an election.  But 86% of Pennsylvanians want medicinal cannabis.  And hundreds of people will lose their lives in the meantime.

I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired.  I just had to defend my anti-seizures meds to an insurance company doctor.  I cried the entire time.  I told him that I was not speaking in hyperbole when I said that I am afraid that my epilepsy will kill me, every day.  Every day.  That’s not a joke, that’s my life.  There are a million deadly things when you lose consciousness at the drop of a hat, and then drop like a hat to the floor.

I just want a chance to take the meds my doctor prescribes and try the medicinal herbs that they will also prescribe.  I’m honest about it to all my doctors, even the random ones in the hospital who don’t even know me.  I just want to have less seizures.

I promise to vote for all my Senators and House Reps who do support it.  I will vote against all those who don’t.  I will also vote against those who won’t say how they feel.

I am not a criminal.  Philly just decriminalize marijuana.  If you have a small amount of pot on you, you are not a criminal.  Thanks Philly.  The signers of our State Constitution (1801) would be proud.  They wanted us to grow hemp.

I am debating how to address this with my kids.  They will want to know why I’m watching the General Assembly Live on TV.  I can’t explain it to myself.  I know nothing is getting done today and most likely not tomorrow or the day after that either.  But I can Hope.

Will you vote for me today, Senators?

When you pray for the Senate, will you pray for me?

Leave a comment

Filed under Essays, Living w/ Epilepsy, News, Non-fiction, Rant

Leave a Reply

