Pennsylvania Dreamin’

Image

Dear Honorable Members of the Pennsylvania General Assembly,

I am writing to you today to beg you to join with Governor Tom Corbett in support of medical cannabis.

Tom Corbett has not traditionally been my favorite Governor.  The past four years have been like a nightmare.  Every time Tom Corbett opened his mouth he offended me.  He slashed the education budget.  My school district lost millions of dollars.  The quality of my children’s education was absolutely affected.  My kids didn’t go any educational field trips that year.

Tom Corbett was voted the Worst Republican in America two years running.  He won the “March Badness” bracket in 2013 and 2014, and rightfully so.  It was the only time I voted for him.  I once heckled him at a local parade.  He heard me.  I was going to include a few of his choicest quotes to back up my claims, but  there are too many to choose from.  Mr. Corbett believed in everything that I do not.

Until now.  Now I’m going to send him a Thank You note.  FINALLY!  He cares about the children.  He cares about me.  Nothing has changed, just one man’s opinion.  But everything has changed.  I read the news online.  I cried. I cried and cried and cried.  Tears of joy ran down my face.  I gasped and read the article over again.  I checked the source.  Was I just being fooled by The Onion?  No. No.  It was the US News, a well respected newsource; not even FOX News or anything.  The US News was reporting that Notorious G.O.V. was supporting CBD extract for the treatment of seizures in children.  Huzzah!  My life got so much better in that very second.

I called my mom to tell her, she had already heard the news.  She wasn’t as ecstatic as I was.  Her children with seizures are grown women.  We aren’t yet covered by Tom’s proposal.  And it is only a proposal.  It’s not the law, not yet.  It’s the smallest, tightest way Tom Corbett can say that he would allow treatment to the few, very sick children.

So far I am excluded in that few, but it doesn’t matter to me.  This one man’s opinion has changed the world.  Previously, Tom Corbett was strongly against science and medicine.  He didn’t care that children were having hundreds of seizures a day.  He didn’t care that the former US Surgeon General Sanjay Gupta was speaking out for a safe, natural medicine for seizure treatment.  Tommy didn’t care that 21 states allow it.  He didn’t care that 85% of Pennsylvania’s support it.

Then on May 1, 2014, Governor Tom Corbett said the words seizures and marijuana in the same sentence.  He said yes.  He believes me!  We deserve treatment.  Now.  We need to act quickly.

The Senate must call for a vote on SB 1182 The Raymond Shafer Compassionate Use Act.  You can vote on it and PASS it this very week during session.  The House of Representatives can move on their own HB 1181.  You don’t need to wait.  We can pass these bills THIS WEEK.  I’ve called my Representatives and Senators.  They are in support of the bills.  I am counting on you Senator Sean Wiley and Representative Patrick Harkins.

We don’t have to let Corbett dictate the narrow reach of treatment.  He has already agreed that there is medicinal value.  That is enough.  How can you treat children with seizures but not adults?  We are still somebody’s child.  My life is still at risk.  How can you treat people with seizures but not treat children with cancer?  We cannot.  We cannot stop with CBD oils.

We need to legal, medical marijuana for everyone who is sick.  I have no problem getting a prescription from my doctor.  We have already discussed it.  Many times in fact.  Many, many, neurologists believe that cannabidiol offers the next best treatment for seizure control.  The Epilepsy Foundation is in support of medical marijuana.  This is not an opinion.  This is a fact.  We just want the chance to try to control our seizures.  Marijuana gives us hope for seizure control.  Hope that I haven’t had before.  I live in daily fear of seizures.  I just want treatment options.

Now we’ve finally gotten our Governor to come onboard!  I think that he must have seen one of the children have a seizure.  How could you see that and say no?  You can’t.  You can’t deny us medication that we need, today.  The General Assembly is in session.  Please make this happen now.  Call for a vote on SB 1182 and HB 1181.  Vote YES for medicine.  Vote YES for Compassion.

The wave of the future is medical marijuana, and not just CBD for kids with seizures.  But I’ll take that anyday.  Everyday.  Give the poor babies their medicine now.  Please give us all a chance to feel better and have less seizures.  We can’t wait any longer.  End Medical Marijuana Prohibition today!

Pennsylvania does not have to be last.  We can be the 22nd.

Sincerely,

Pennsylvanian Epileptic and Voter

Kathryn Slagle

1 Comment

May 5, 2014 · 10:04 am

One response to “Pennsylvania Dreamin’

  1. christy

    Very well said. Wolf will make all our dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

